How To Say the Rosary

How to say the rosary?

We provide here a brief guide for praying the rosary.









How to Say the Rosary – The Mysteries

There are four sets of Mysteries people are recommended to meditate on when reciting the rosary. These are:

The Joyful Mysteries (Recited on Mondays and Saturdays)
The Annunciation – The Angel Gabriel’s announcement that Mary shall bear the Son of God.
The Visitation – Mary’s visit to Elizabeth, at that time bearing John the Baptist.
The Nativity – Birth of Jesus Christ
The Presentation – Jesus was presented to the temple, as witnessed by Simeon.
The Finding in the Temple – After Joseph and Mary lost the child Jesus, they found Him in the

temple, discussing with the Rabbis.

The Luminous Mysteries (Recited on Thursdays)

     The Baptism in the Jordan – Jesus was baptized by John the Baptist in the Jordan.
The Wedding at Cana – Jesus turned water into wine.
The Proclamation of the Kingdom – Jesus proclaims the kingdom of God and gives forgiveness of

sins to those who approach Him.
The Transfiguration – Jesus’ face became radiant with the glory of God.
The Institution of the Eucharist – Jesus broke bread with His disciples in the Last Supper.

The Sorrowful Mysteries (Recited on Tuesdays and Fridays)

     The Agony in the Garden – Jesus prays at the Garden of Gethsemane before His capture.
The Scourging at the Pillar – Jesus was ordered whipped.
The Crowning with Thorns – Roman soldiers put a crown made of thorns on Jesus’ head.
The Carrying of the Cross – Jesus carries the cross, falling several times.
The Crucifixion – Jesus is crucified and died.

The Glorious Mysteries (Recited on Wednesdays and Sundays)
The Resurrection – Jesus Christ was resurrected.
The Ascension – Jesus goes up to heaven.
The Holy Spirit’s Descent – The Holy Spirit descends on the Apostles during their meeting with

The Assumption – Mary was assumed into heaven at the end of her life.
The Coronation – The Coronation of Mary, the Queen of Heaven and Earth.

How to Say the Rosary – The Prayer

how to say the rosary

how to say the rosary


Here’s a step by step instruction for reciting the rosary:
1. Make the Sign of the Cross.
2. Recite the “Apostles’ Creed”.
3. Recite the “Our Father”.
4. Recite three “Hail Marys”.
5. Recite the “Glory Be to the Father”.
6. Recite the applicable First Mystery.
7. Recite the “Our Father”.
8. Recite ten “Hail Marys”.
9. Recite the “Glory Be to the Father”
10. Recite the Fatima Prayer: “O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, lead all souls to Heaven, especially those who have most need of your mercy.”
11. Recite the Second Mystery and repeat 7, 8, 9, 10.
12. Do the same for the Third, Fourth and Fifth Mysteries.





How the Say the Rosary – Hail Holy Queen


After reciting the rosary, you can also recite the following prayer:
HAIL, HOLY QUEEN, Mother of Mercy, hail our life, our sweetness and our hope! To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve; to thee do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this vale of tears. Turn then, most gracious advocate, thine eyes of mercy toward us, and after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus. O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary!

Leader: Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God.
All: That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let us pray. O GOD, whose only begotten Son, by His life, death, and resurrection, has purchased for us the rewards of eternal life, grant, we beseech Thee, that meditating upon these mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, we may imitate what they contain and obtain what they promise, through the same Christ Our Lord. Amen.
This ends our post about how to say the rosary.
For another prayer, read about Pope Benedict’s prayer for strength here.
And check other Catholic prayers here.